Formation of the Medchal-Malkajgiri District

After taking over as the Chief Minister of Telangana, Sri KCR garu has taken a historic decision of reorganisation of state into 31 smaller district from erstwhile 10 big districts. Vide G.O.Ms. No. 249, Dated : 11.10.2016 as part of providing better decentralised administration to the people

Accordingly the Medchal−Malkajgiri District is formed as one of the 31 districts in the state on 11th October 2016. Keesara is the headquarter of the district. It has been carved out of the Ranga Reddy district and one of the 31 districts in the state of Telangana. The district is spread over an area of 1,089 square kilometres. As per 2011 census of India, the district is the second most populous of the state with a population of 24,60,095. The district has two revenue divisions of Keesara and Malkajgiri. They are further sub-divided into 14 mandals at the time of district formation and Muduchintalapally(m) has been carved out from Shamirpet(M) and hence there are 15 Mandals in total as on date which are 1. Alwal, 2. Bachupally, 3. Balanagar, 4. Dundigal – Gandimmaisamma, 5. Kukatpally, 6. Quthbullapur 7. Malkajgiri, 8. Keesara, 9. Ghatkesar, 10. Medipally, 11. Uppal, 12. Kapra, 13. Shamirpet, and 14. Medchal, 15.Muduchintalapally

The silent feature of the District.

District Profile

This is also the most urbanised district among the new districts formed on 11th October 2016. The district is encircled with the ORR (Outer Ring Road) and has good industrial, educational, pharmaceutical, agricultural and IT Hubs.

The District covers One (1) Parliamentary Constituency Viz Malkajgiri and five (5) Assembly constituencies fully i.e., 1. Malkajgiri, 2. Uppal, 3. Kukatpally, 4. Quthbullapur, 5. Medchal and (2) Assembly Constituencies partly i.e.,  1. L.B Nagar and 2.Sherilingampally.

  • This District is covered with Rural (8.6%) and Urban (91.4%) area.
  • The Outer Ring Road (ORR) is dividing the District in to two parts. Geographical area of the District is 1089 Sq. Kms and bounded by Siddipet District at North side, Yadadri District at East side, Hyderabad and Rangareddy District at Southern side and Sangareddy & Rangareddy District at West side.

Total Population of the District is 24,60,095 and House Holds are 5,98,112 as per 2011 census. The House Holds as per SKS census 2014 is 7,68,525

  • Prominent are the Bulk Drug & Pharmaceutical units, Automobile, Construction based Industries are located in this District. There are major public sector units / Govt. of India organizations i.e., Nuclear Fuel Complex, ECIL, HAL, CCMB, NGRI, Dundigal air Force Academy BEL (Production Unit) Division, NRSA, etc in the District.
  • The prestigious Institutions like Institute of Public Enterprise (IPE), BITS PILANI – Hyderabad Campus, JNTU and NALSAR LAW University Hakimpet Air force Academy, Dundigal Airport, CISF Head Quarters etc., are existing in the District.
  • There are no Major and Medium surface Irrigation Projects in the District. However there are (7540) Minor Irrigation Tanks in the District. This District is a Major producer of Horticulture, Vegetables and Floriculture products, as such this district is catering mostly to the day today needs of Hyderabad – Secunderabad Cities .

Medical and Health services are being provided through 7 UPHCs, (2) Community health centers. Women & Child care services are provided through 793 Anganwadi centres

  • There are 415 Primary, 467 UPS, 993 High Schools in Government & Private sectors with enrolment of 552547 (64431) Junior Colleges, (248) Degree Colleges, (248) Engineering Colleges, (13) Polytechnic Colleges and (2) Medical College are existing in the District.
  • Sri Ramalingeshwara Swamy Temple located at Keesagiri in Keesara is an ancient  and famous pilgrimage  centre in the District.

The formation of smaller districts and establishment of Integrated Collectorate Complex near ORR Keesara with almost all district officers of government department has resulted in providing the better prompt services to the general public. Statistics are provided in Annexure-I.

  • This District consists of (162) Revenue Villages, (15) Mandals, (2) Revenue Divisions. There are (8) GHMC Circles, (13) Municipalities and  (61) Gramapanchyaths in the District.