About District

 Medchal – Malkajgiri District

Telangana is the youngest and newly formed 29th state of India. Came into existance on 2nd June 2014, by bifurcation of united Andhra Pradesh. Telangana has an area of 1,12,077 square kilometres and a population of 3,50,03,674 (as per 2011 Census). It is the 12th largest state and the 12th most populated state in India. Its major cities include Hyderabad, Warangal, Nizamabad, Khammam and Karimnagar. Telangana is bordered by the states of Maharashtra in the north and northwest, Chhattisgarh in the north, Karnataka in the west and Andhra Pradesh in the east and south.

Telangana had a history as the Telugu-speaking region of the princely state of Hyderabad, ruled by the Nizams of Hyderabad. It joined the Union of India in 1948. In 1956, the Hyderabad State was dissolved as part of the linguistic reorganisation of states and Telangana was merged with former Andhra State to form Andhra Pradesh. Following a prolonged peoples struggle, Telangana was awarded separate statehood on 2nd June 2014. Hyderabad will continue to serve as the joint capital city for Andhra Pradesh and Telangana for a period of ten years.

Telangana is situated on the Deccan Plateau, in the central stretch of the eastern seaboard of the Indian Peninsula. The region is drained by two major rivers, Krishna and Godavari with about 79% of the Godavari River catchment area and about 69% of the Krishna River catchment area, but most of the land is arid. Telangana is also drained by several minor rivers such as the Bhima, the Maner, the Manjira and the Musi. The annual rainfall is between 900 and 1500 mm in northern Telangana and 700 to 900 mm in southern Telangana almost from the southwest monsoons. Various soil types abound, include chalkas, red sandy soils, dubbas, deep red loamy soils, and very deep black cotton soils that facilitate planting mangoes, oranges and flowers.